角膜塑形术的工作流程

首先,隐形眼镜专家兼验光师使用先进的角膜测绘技术、成像技术等绘制出反映角膜表面弧线(即眼睛的外部结构)的三维形状图。这是一个无痛过程,持续时间不会超过一分钟。

然后,隐形眼镜专家兼验光师根据三维角膜形状图来定制和完善角膜塑形术隐形眼镜,以便增强视力、维持长期安全和角膜完整性。经美国食品药物管理局(FDA)认证,角膜塑形术隐形眼镜适合整夜佩戴。

患者只需在睡觉前佩戴角膜塑形术隐形眼镜,睡醒后摘除。在夜间睡眠时间,角膜塑形术隐形眼镜以可控的方式温和重塑角膜形状,以此提高视力。

佩戴角膜塑形术隐形眼镜一周后,视力有望提高,但大多数患者只佩戴一夜后就能感到视力明显的改善。

在角膜形状重塑完成之后,有些患者只需每隔一夜佩戴一次甚至每周佩戴一两次便可保持完美视力。

流程的各阶段

第一次就诊:
前期讨论、眼部检查、角膜形状图:全面检查,确定流程对于患者的适合性和安全性;电脑测绘(这是整个流程中不可或缺的一个环节),计算眼镜参数。

第二、三次就诊:
眼镜设计应用和一夜试戴:按照三维角膜形状图和眼镜参数计算,为患者选择最适合的眼镜进行一夜试戴,并教导眼镜的佩戴、摘除和日常清洁方法。第二天早上为患者检查视力提高、眼镜位置和角膜完整性情况,并再次进行电脑测绘。根据一夜试戴的测试结果可以很好地预测流程是否成功。如果因测试结果不理想而导致流程中止,则为患者寻求其他近视控制办法。

第四次就诊以及后续两周:
如果一夜试戴的测试结果令人满意,患者需要连续两周每夜佩戴角膜塑形术隐形眼镜。两周后,再次对患者进行类似于前几次就诊的检查,以确保达到预期矫视效果。全面进行眼部健康检查之后,开出关于眼镜最终设计的处方交给患者,并提供六个月的后期护理。

后期护理

对于佩戴角膜塑形术隐形眼镜的患者来说,后期护理非常重要。如果不接受后期护理,佩戴角膜塑形术隐形眼镜的舒适性、眼部健康和长期矫视效果可能会有所折损。隐形眼镜专家兼验光师会告诉你接受后期护理的间隔时期。

How does it work

An Optometrist, Contact Lens Specialist will use advanced technology such as corneal mapping (topography), and imaging techniques to develop a three-dimensional map of the surface curvature of the cornea, the outer structure of the eye. The procedure is carried out in seconds and is completely painless.

The Optometrist, Contact Lens Specialist will then utilise the three-dimensional map of the cornea to help perfect a bespoke OrthoK contact lens to enhance vision and maintain long term safety and corneal integrity. OrthoK contact lenses are FDA approved for overnight wear.

The OrthoK contact lenses are worn at night while the patient is asleep and removed when they wake up. Throughout the night whilst sleeping the OrthoK contact lenses will gently reshape the cornea in a controlled fashion to improve vision.

The improvement to vision is expected after one week of lens wear, however most patients notice a significant improvement to their vision even after one night.

Once the corneal shape has been established, some people need to wear their lenses only every other night, or even once or twice a week, to maintain perfect vision.

STAGES OF THE PROCESS

Initial Appointment:
Preliminary Discussion, Eye Examination and Corneal Shape Mapping: Comprehensive examination techniques will be conducted to deem the procedure safe and suitable for the individual. Computerised topography measurements, integral to the entire process, will then be conducted thus allowing lens parameter calculations to be made.

Second and Third Appointments:
Lens Design Application and Overnight Trial: Based on the three-dimensional map of the cornea and lens calculations, the best-fit lenses will be chosen and assessed on the eye. Lens insertion, removal and daily cleaning procedures will be taught. The patient will then be seen the morning after one night of lens wear at which time checks for visual improvement, lens positioning, corneal integrity and further topography maps are conducted. The overnight trial results are an excellent predictor of its success. Occasionally this trial is unsuccessful and the procedure is discontinued, however other myopia control options will be explored.

Fourth Appointment, Post Fortnight:
After positive responses from the overnight trial, the patient will be asked to wear the lenses every night for a fortnight. After which similar checks as conducted at previous appointments will be completed to ensure the desired visual outcome. Once all ocular health checks are conducted the final lens design will be prescribed and supplied to the patient with continuing aftercare service for 6 months.

REGULAR AFTER CARE

It is vital to have regular checkups when wearing OrthoK contact lenses. The comfort, eye health and long-term success with OrthoK could be compromised if regular aftercare is not adhered to. The Optometrist, Contact Lens Specialist will advise how frequently you will need to attend aftercare appointments.